SQL Server connectivity issue

Hi All,
I am new to DBT tool. I am setting it up and getting familiar with the tool in my computer.
I have installed all tools/software as instructed in the DBT installation instructions.
I am working on 2 POC’s, 1st is with connectivity to PostgreSQL and 2nd one is using SQL Server Database as a target.

PostgreSQL - working fine and able to import CSV files and create tables and views in the target database.

however, with SQL Server Database, I am getting error as ‘Could not find adapter type sqlserver’.
I have installed the SQL Server custom adapter using the command ‘pip install dbt-sqlserver’ and configured the connection properly in the profile as below.
But it is returning the error ‘Could not find adapter type sqlserver!’ when I run the dbt compile command.

please let me know what I am missing here

target: dev

outputs:

dev:

type: sqlserver

driver: 'ODBC Driver 17 for SQL Server'

server: sqlserver1027

port: 1433

database: dbtwarehouse

schema: dbo

windows_login: True

prod:

type: sqlserver

driver: 'ODBC Driver 17 for SQL Server'

host: sqlserver2017

database: dbtwarehouse

schema: dbo

username: sa

password: sa

thank you,
Rajendra

Hi, A college of my had problems on Windows. I can check with him, but I think the main reason was that he had different versions of python. Both 32-bit and 64-bit. Dbt was looking for the adapter in the wrong version.

But I will talk to him and get back here.

Edit: By the way, there is a sql server- channel in dbt slack. Might get more / faster help there.

Generally when you get ‘Could not find adapter type sqlserver’ there is a more specific error message as well. Could you please paste the entire output from dbt run?

Hi,

Thank you for your reply.

I have installed 64 bit of Python and all other utilities.

here is the complete out with ‘dbt debug’ command

Running with dbt=0.15.1
dbt version: 0.15.1
python version: 3.7.6

python path: c:\users
r22123(user)