How to handle test failures

Hi all,
I’m new to dbt and am trying to figure out, how best to handle bad data in a transformation process.
Let’s say I have a very simple NOT NULL check on a source table and I want to move rows that violate that check (“bad” data) to an error table for later inspection and route the “good” rows through my models into my data warehouse.

So far I came up with two approaches:

1. Build two models on the source, one that selects the bad data and one that selects the good data. Based on those models proceed with my data loading of good data and inspect the models with bad data to handle the errors
  2. Implement the built in test feature of dbt to find the bad data. If the test fails handle the bad data (i.e. remove it from the load) and start over until all tests pass at which point trigger loading the good data.

Both approaches seem not quite right, as with the first one I am not using the test feature of dbt and have to do a lot of custom coding.
In the second approach I can use the test feature and with the store-failures option probably even create the bad data automatically, but I will need some sort of orchestration software like airflow to react to the test failures.

So I feel there must be a better option to find bad data with dbt test, then move it somewhere else and process only the remaining good data.
Would be happy to hear how others in the community solve this.

1 Like

Hi @rgrupe ,
I think that what to do depends on your business rules, but the possibilities I see are:

1. stopping the load: if a null is something you can’t fix nor want to continue with bad data or without all the data. Make the test on your source data and let it throw an error before you start the run.