Inmon vs Kimball in dbt

Traditionally in Inmon-style data warehouse design, there is an intermediate layer between the raw “data lake” and mart (dimensional) layers. This is either accomplished with data vault (difficult), or a normalized design (easy).

Then marts are built on top of these. The idea is that is if you design your marts wrong (stovepipe designs), you have nothing to fall back on and must re-do them. Additionally, and more importantly, the intermediate layer accurately reflects you business processes.

With dbt, so far, most of what I am seeing is source (data lake) ==>stage (light transform)==>mart (fully transformed) data designs.

Why is this? I.E. Is there something about dbt that somehow eliminates the need for a middle layer? I am new to dbt, but the concept is still the same.

1 Like

At Trove, we’ve very much built an Inmon-style data warehouse. dbt works very well for this.

To roughly characterize our model, there are core tables in the business-entity layer: a normalized representation of the business and related data entities, just as you suggested. Then there are summaries, aggregations, snapshots used in data marts. When using visualization tools like Looker, it’s more efficient to use the data marts. The core model is often the target of exploratory data analysis.

The core models are rebuilt in one dbt run each night. The marts are built in a separate run executed later. dbt would equally support building them all in a single run: the built-in dependency resolution would mean that the core models would be built first and the marts after.

Throughout the business day, the core models are updated incrementally every 10 minutes with fresh source data. Depending on how they’re used, the data marts may or may not be incremental models.

1 Like

Terry,