Modeling SQL update statements

I am relatively new to dbt and trying to convert a SQL script on Redshift into a bonafide model. The script is basically an insert into a lookup table followed by two dozen or so update statements (I know, awful) to bucket rows into categories based on string pattern matches.

I am curious about the best way to translate this pattern into a model. It seems like the initial insert could be materialized as an ephemeral table. If so, how do I subsequently run a series of update tables on this table? I donā€™t care about persisting or making queryable any of the intermediate states between the updates.

create table foobar as
select * 
from blah....;

update foobar
set column_name = boo
where other_column like '%something%';

update foobar
set column_name = boo
where other_column like '%something-else%';

update....
2 Likes

Iā€™m also wondering about this as well. Two of my tables need a lot of cleanup. And I have to use dozens of update statements and a few temp tables to get the final set of tables I need.

I am also new to DBT and was considering doing these transformations immediately after importing the raw data into the warehouse. By using a call to a stored procedure. And then in DBT referencing the source tables in a CTE to show the lineage between these ā€œstagedā€ tables and their raw data sources. Not sure if there is a better pattern.

I think the way to do it is using select queries rather than updates.

select 
    case 
        when other_column like '%something%' then 'boo'
        when other_column like '%something-else%' then 'boo-else'
        else 'no boo for you'
    end as column_name
from foobar