Use value from macro inside a model

Hi, first message here. I’m new to dbt :slight_smile:

The problem I’m having

I’m trying to use a value that i get from a macro - specifically a max_date i calculate for a given table

The context of why I’m trying to do this

I want to build a generic macro that i will use in a lot of my incremental models. My target is to get a table MAX(DATE(created_at)) and use it in models

What I’ve already tried

I’ve wrote the macro and it seems to return some value. i’m not sure how to properly use it

Some example code or error messages

macro: get_table_max_date.sql

{% macro get_max_date(table_name, column_name) %}
    {% set query %}
        SELECT MAX(DATE({{ column_name }})) FROM {{ table_name }}
    {% endset %}
    {% set results = run_query(query) %}
    {{ return(results) }}
{% endmacro %}

model: my_table.sql

{{
    config(
        materialized='incremental',
        incremental_strategy='append')
}}
{% set max_date = get_max_date('my_table', 'created_at') %}

WITH results AS
    (
        SELECT *
        FROM {{ ref("some_other_table") }}
        {% if is_incremental() %}
            WHERE DATE(created_at) > {{ max_date }}
        {% endif %}
    ),

And i get the following error:
18:19:37 001003 (42000): SQL compilation error: 18:19:37 syntax error line 15 at position 37 unexpected '|'. 18:19:37 syntax error line 15 at position 39 unexpected 'column'. 18:19:37 syntax error line 16 at position 0 unexpected '|'. 18:19:37 syntax error line 17 at position 0 unexpected '|'. 18:19:37 syntax error line 20 at position 4 unexpected ')'.

Another thing i want to achieve after solving this issue:
Can i call the macro {% set max_date = get_max_date('my_table', 'created_at') %} with {{ this }} instead of providing the table name?
will {% set max_date = get_max_date(this, 'created_at') %} should work?

Thank you !