Why can't my macro see the values inside of the columns it's given?

Hi everyone! I am new with macro creation and I have an issue about it.

Problem

I am triyng to send column values to the macro, and inside it I have a few Ifs conditions. But the validation is not carrying out, as the column name has not value (only receive a string as x.name)

The context

My model has this column

{{ get_city('d.country') }} name

and inside the macro, for example, I have this condition:

{% macro get_city(coutry) -%}
{%- if country == 'text' -%}
   	        'ans' 

If the condition is equal to:

{%- if country == 'd.coutry' -%}

It returns True

Extra Info

The engine is Big Query

Please excuse my redaction. Other kind of info that you need, let me know! Thks :raised_hands:

You should use Jinja to generate SQL, not to run transformations directly. You’ll have to work hard to go from a country name to a city name using Jinja, and that’s because it’s not a good practice.

How were you going to do this inside of your macro? If it was going to be a series of if statements, you can get your warehouse to do the work instead, e.g. by creating a seed file that contains the mappings and joining against that, or by creating a case statement.

If the case statement is going to be large and reused in multiple places, then you could leave that in a macro, but you should be thinking about macros as SQL generators where the work is ultimately still run against the warehouse.

Hi Joel!

Before all, Thanks a lot for your answer

I guees that it is correct if I share the total idea, and from here, maybe you could say me what is the best option in that case:

Context

First idea:

As I showed, my idea was share column value to the macro, and inside the macro return the final value depend on if the column value is equal to a string.

But it was not the “total” idea. Inside the macro there are a series of if statments (as you said) but a series of arrays too (variables).

Why do I have this?