Groups and Exposures

Hi, I’m a developer working on a small data warehouse built using dbt / BigQuery. I’m planning to upgrade to dbt 1.5, as those features look really amazing. One of the most useful features for us is Model Access. I would like to set many of our models as private and I already created a group and assigned the models into it. I also added tests and snapshots to the same group. However, these models are also referenced by an exposure. When I attempt to add the exposure to the group (either through dbt_project.yml or in the exposure’s config), it either doesn’t do anything or it fails on compile.

Please, is it somehow possible to add the exposure into the group? Or can the exposure only reference public models? The 1.5 documentation doesn’t mention exposures at all, the only thing I was able to find was an idea which presumes exposures won’t be able to see private models in any way. Is that still the case?Thanks a lot in advance!

1 Like

I’m glad model access is exciting for you!

Can you expand on what you want to achieve by having the exposures in a group? Is it solely for categorisation (i.e. you’re using groups to create collections instead of putting them in a common folder)? Exposures aren’t ref-able, so the access restrictions don’t really apply to them.

Hi, thanks for the response. The reason is a bit complex, which is why I didn’t go into it in the issue description.
Our project evolved over time, so that now it consists of a few parts which are essentially independent: financial data, product data, commercial data and then the main data (we should have a better name for it, but it’s still called the main data for now). The process now is that financial data, product data and commercial data are built independently into their own datasets and then the main data build uses these datasets as source (rather than ref) for the build.